Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

HIST 488: Gun Rights and Laws - History of the Second Amendment (Roberts): Finding Government and Archival Information

Here in Malpass

Besides books and articles, historical government and archival data can be useful for Second Amendment research. The links below will provide access to congressional proceedings, historical U.S. law, and more:

Government Publications

This library unit, located on the 4th floor, contains a wealth of primary sources, especially on topics that would have been studied, reported, or debated by the federal or state government.

Congressional Serial Set

Use this database for primary source material, such as congressional documents and reports, 1817-1980. 

American State Papers

Like the Congressional Serial Set, but covering the years 1789-1838. 

Historical Statistics of the United States

Historical Statistics contains quantitative data on demographics, work and welfare, governance, and economics.

On the web

Below is a list of some broad-coverage digital archives and government search portals that can be found online. You will most likely need to seek out specialized digital collections in addition to these more general sources.

Congress.gov

This easy-to-use congressional website provides access to current and historical legislation, as well as congressional records and committee reports. 

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is an immense collection of original documents, photos, open source books, and other odds and ends. With over 7 million books included, you are bound to find something on your topic.

Hathi Trust

This ongoing digitization project features collections of books and articles from universities around the world. 

Chronicling America (Library of Congress)

The Library of Congress is in the process of digitizing historical American newspapers. Currently, high-quality, searchable scans are available from 1836-1922.

List of National and International Newspaper Archives

This Wikipedia list includes links to various newspaper archives.