Library Guides: Immigration and Migrant Groups: Government Publications

Government Publications

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Online collection of documents related to homeland security, from the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security
NCJRS This link opens in a new window
National Criminal Justice Reference Service, from the US Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs. Indexes over 140,000 publications.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports and publications issued by Congress from 1817 to 1980, including full-text. May be helpful for historical explorations of immigration laws and attitudes in the United States.

See also the Citizenship and Immigration Services subject guide created by the Government Publications department of Malpass Library - includes online resources and call numbers of some print documents dealing with immigration.

Government Agencies

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, US Department of Homeland Security - information focused towards potential immigrants to the United States, including laws, forms, and steps toward citizenship (including naturalization test study materials).
Executive Office for Immigration Review, US Department of Justice - includes information about immigration cases in the United States. See the "Statistics and Publications" section for annual statistics on numbers of asylum seekers, countries of origin, number of cases accepted and denied, etc.
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, US Department of Homeland Security - information and statistics with a focus on enforcement of immigration laws.
Immigration Statistics, US Department of Homeland Security - includes statistics on asylum, permanent residence status, naturalization; also provides links to more statistics sources from other governmental agencies.
National Archives: Immigration Records - information about the ship passenger arrival records of immigrants to the United States, including records in the National Archives and other sources for these immigration records.
Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage - includes articles and multimedia on cultural groups within the United States and around the world.