Library Guides: Evolution: Databases

Articles on the Science of Evolution

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to articles in over 4000 journals in the Biological Sciences, from 1996 to the present. Full text can be found using the Find It! button.
Science Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
SCI is an interdisciplinary index to articles in over 3,500 journals from 2004 to the present. It can be used to search for information on who has cited an article. It can also be used to sign up for an account to EndNote, an online system that can be used to access, update and organize references for research.

Two sources for current, controversial topics:

CQ Researcher Online Database This link opens in a new window
Single-themed, 12,000-word reports (background, stats, assessment, bibliographies). Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, environment, technology, economy
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Some subject-specific databases that may also be helpful:

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Bible; Religion and Social Issues; Church History; World Religions & Religious Studies; Theology; Philosophy; Ethics.
ERIC-Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Over one million citations to articles, documents, and reports. All aspects of education (includes Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education).
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 560 journals