Skip to main content
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

Using Databases: What if its not in the database?

This guide will introduce you to the library Databases at WIU. You will find out what we subscribe to and where they are located. It is intended to provide information for scholarly research and to supplement classroom learning.

Articles Not Available in Full-Text

  When you are looking at search results and you do not see a HTML or PDF Full-Text, Try the Find it! feature. In most databases it is found as a purple and gray button below an item in the list, in some databases you might also find it as just a hyperlink. Click on it to see whether or not we have an article in either print or Full-Text in another location. When you click the Find It! tool, you will get one of 3 results.

  1. A Full-Text copy is available in another database.
  2. A Print copy is available in the library on the 3rd floor.
  3. A request for the item must be made from Inter-LIbrary Loan.

Example of an Article That is Available at WIU:

Full Text:  An online version that you can print off; just click on the  button.

Holdings Information: A print version.  It says we own 1999-2003 located on the 3rd floor, keep in mind that is a dated version, so you would be better off with the Full Text version available via SAGE Premier 2012. Just click the button


No Online Full Text or Print/ Microform holidings in the WIU Library Catalog, Try Inter-Library Loan

You would need to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan using the appropriate form:

What's an Interlibrary Loan? 

Click here to view a guide about Interlibrary loans.