This guide contains information on a wide variety of information resources related to World War II. While some resources are available in the Library, other resources are available online. Some resources are only available for WIU students, faculty and st
Scholarly journals contain a summary of original research on a specific topic. Articles related to World War II history can be found using many different indexes, which are provided through the WIU Libraries:
An index to popular magazines such as Time, Newsweek and Life. It contains over 20,000 articles on World War II and includes links to some full-text articles.
A digital library that offers free universal access to books, movies & music, and over 150 billion archived web pages. It includes over 30,000 items related to World War II.
The New York Times Archive can be searched online for free. When an article of interest is found, it can be read in the historical issues of the New York Times available in Microfilm. To request the film, ask at the Access Services Desk, Malpass Library, 2nd Floor.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
Has information about political papers, treaties, and all branches of the armed service. This website also has detailed information about the Pacific and European theaters of operations.
