Library Guides: Domestic Violence: Government Databases

Government Databases

GovInfo
Try using GovInfo to search for government documents and publications related to your desired search terms. Be sure to use the advanced search when applicable as the government publishes millions of documents. Using a basic search may turn up thousands of results.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications provides access to Federal Depository Library items. Many U.S. government publications are published here, including individual publications that are not part of a larger set.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The University of North Texas has acquired one of the largest databases of full-text Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. Referred to as "Cliff Notes" for our congress, these reports provide short summaries of the important issues regarding a variety of topics. Try searching desired terms to find information related to animal welfare.
Google
Try using "site:gov" prefacing your search terms to find government information related to that search term. This filters the results to show only .gov websites, which can help in finding government information related to your search. Try using "site:edu" prefacing your search terms to find information related to that search term to from educational websites. This filters the results to show only .edu websites, which can help in finding educational information related to your search, such as policies, regulations, and university-sponsored research or articles.

NCJRS This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains more than 220,000 collection records for criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. This includes more than 60,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs works.

United States Department of Justice
The Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) provides information on a variety of topics regarding domestic violnece, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking. The OVW administers financial and technical assistance to communities across the country that are developing programs, policies, and practices aimed at ending domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking. They also provide information on local resources for victims.
Domestic Violence (MedlinePlus)
MedlinePlus provides definitions of domestic violence, including alternate terms, and provides starting polices and a variety of of other information on the subject.
U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
The NLM provides a variety of information on domestic violence. They provide pre-defined searches on domestic violence through their resources, news on domestic violence, and plenty of other data on the topic.