Library Guides: AAS 281 Black Literature: Periodical Articles

Keywords versus Subject Terms

America: History and Life: Covers North American history from ancient times to the present. Click on the Online Databases link on the library’s homepage. Note that the presence of a full-text link does not mean that WIU has the full-text version. Coverage since 1955.

Index to Black Periodicals, 1950-2004 .: Indexes African-American periodicals of general and scholarly interest. Located in the reference stacks under REF/E/185.5/I58. Building use only.
MLA International Bibliography: The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. (See Scope of the Bibliography.) It is compiled by the staff of the MLA office of bibliographic information services with the cooperation of more than one hundred contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Available online, the MLA International Bibliography annually indexes over 66,000 books and articles.

Academic Search Complete: Covers a wide variety of topics, including minorities and education. EBSCO. Dates vary.
Essay and General Literature Index: This database focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Readers’ Guide Abstracts, 1890-: Readers' Guide Abstracts is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. The abstracts average 125 words in length.

JSTOR: JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines. Over the summer the University Libraries acquired more J-STOR collections. For information on the University Libraries J-STOR collections visit J-STOR collections at your institution. JSTOR articles are heavily footnoted which often point to primary sources.
Project MUSE: Provides full-text to over 100 scholarly journals. Use it to update J-STOR titles. Limit your search to those journals subscribed to by your institution.

Contact:

215 Malpass Library