Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

BC 302: Broadcast Research and Writing II (JP Stierman): Article Databases

Search Tips

Search Tips

-Try using both subject and keyword searches

-Use the subject terms generated by your search

-Try limiting the search by date

-Try limiting by Scholarly or Peer reviewed publications

-Use the "Find It" button to double check for full text

General Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete- provides full text for more than 200 titles, indexes more than 300 communication and mass media journals. Topics include all aspects of mass media and communication.

Communication Abstracts- covers international journals, books, and other sources.  Topics include mass communication, marketing, advertising, theory, public relations, journalism, speech, radio and television. 

Academic Search  Complete-provides full text for more than 2,050 publications, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 3,476 journals in the collection. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Access World News-America'a Newspapers is the Libraries best single source for full-text newspapers articles. Simple to search. Includes access to the Chicago Tribune and the Peoria Journal Star, the two most popular newspapers in our area. Limit your search by newspaper, state, region, and more.

American History and Life- history and culture of North America (U.S., Canada, Mexico, Caribbean), from prehistoric times to the present

Historical Abstracts- history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America)


LexisNexis Academic - full-text access to major domestic and foreign newpapers, news transcripts, legal periodicals, and other sources


Reader's Guide Abstracts-Years 1890- (includes R.G. Retrospective 1890-1982) Topics: multi-disciplinary, including current events, business, education, fashion, food, history, politics, science, sports.
Want more choices? Here's a Link to all the Library Databases

Instructional Librarian