Kartographische Anstalt Freytag und Berndt. 1938. Gau Wien. Wien: G. Freytag & Berndt A.G. Map Collection MAP. G6493.L6:3W5 1938 .F74
In 1938, Germany annexed Austria, and divided it up into administrative regions. This map shows one of the administrative region around Vienna established by the German government.
Cartographic Division. 1939. Central Europe and the Mediterranean as of September 1, 1939. Washington: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G5700 1938 .N3
This map shows the boundaries of Europe at the beginning of World War II.
Freytag & Berndt. 1940. Das Grossdeutsche Reich. Wien: Kartogr. Anstalt G. Freytag & Berndt A.G. Map Collection MAP. G6080 1939 .K3
This map, which was produced by a German cartographic firm, shows the German Reich at the beginning of World War II.
Darley, J. M. (1942). Asia and adjacent areas. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G7400 1942 .N3
A map showing Asia and the Pacific Ocean region near the beginning of World War II.
Darley, J. M., Holdstock, A. E., Chamberlin, W., & Brehm, J. J. 1942. Theater of war in Europe, Africa, and Western Asia. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G5696.S7 1942 .N38
A map showing Europe, Africa and the Middle East region near the beginning of World War II.
Grosvenor, G. H., Darley, J. M., & Riddiford, C. E. 1942. Theater of war in the Pacific Ocean. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G9230 1942 .N3
A map showing the Pacific Ocean region during the War. This map could have been used to identify places in news reports.
Germany. Generalstab des Heeres. 1943. Europa 1:6,000,000: Deutsche heereskarte. Berlin: Oberkommando des Heeres Generalstab des Heeres/Generalstab des Heeres. Map Collection MAP. G5700 1943 .O24
A map of Europe produced by the German Army.
Justus Perthes [Company]. 1942. Stiller Ozean. Gotha [Germany]: Justus Perthes. Map Collection MAP. G9230 1942 .J8
A map of the Pacific Ocean region produced by a German cartographic firm.
Darley, J. M. 1943. Pacific Ocean and the Bay of Bengal. Washington. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G9230 1943 .N3
Another map of the Pacific Ocean and southeast Asia that could be used to track events during the War.
Darley, J. M. 1944. Germany and its approaches with international boundaries as of September 1, 1939, the day Germany invaded Poland and, in red, boundaries as of January 1, 1938, before Germany seized Austria and Czechoslovakia. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G5700 1944 .N3
A map showing the approaches to Germany that was issued in July, 1944, shortly after the Normandy landing.
General Drafting Co. 1944. Esso war map II: Featuring Fortress Europe - The World Island : a Second World War map edited, drafted, and printed by the makers of the well-known Esso road maps (Invasion edition.). New York: General Drafting Co., Inc. Map Collection MAP. G3200 1944 .G4
Maps showing areas of interest during the War were not just issued by the National Geographic Society. This is a map issued by an oil company that shows Europe on one side and the south Pacific on the other. It served as advertising in addition to allowing people to follow current events.
Newsmaps
Newsmaps were posters produced by the War Department that were made available in public places that showed maps of various areas involved in military activity during a particular week of the War War. Many of them have been digitized and are available online through the University of North Texas' digital repository. The WIU Libraries contain two newsmaps that were made available to troops during the War. The map from the 235th week of the War (March, 1944) differs somewhat from the map in the UNT digital repository. It shows a map of Europe instead of providing information about the Anzio invasion.
Army Information Branch. 1944. Newsmap: Week of January 20 to January 29, 229th week of the war, 111th week of U.S. participation. New York, N.Y.; Washington, D.C.: Army Information Branch; Navy distribution by Educational Services Section, Bureau of Personnel, Navy Dept. Map Collection MAP. G3201.S7 svar .U5 v. 2, no. 41
Army Information Branch. 1944. Newsmap for the Armed Forces, week of March 2 to March 9, South Pacific: 235th week of the war, 117th week of U.S. participation. New York, N.Y.; Washington, D.C.: Army Information Branch; Navy distribution by Education Services Section, Bureau of Personnel, Navy Dept. Map Collection MAP. G3201.S7 svar .U5 v. 2, no. 47