Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

InfoTrac Academic OneFile Select: About the Database

About Gale

Gale is an educational publishing company. The company, formerly known as Gale Research and the Gale Group, is active in research and educational publishing for public and academic libraries, schools and businesses. The company may be best known for its full-text magazine and newspaper database InfoTrac and other online databases accessible from schools and libraries, as well as multi-volume reference works, especially in the areas of religion, history and social science.

InfoTrac is a General Database.  It does many of the same things as Academic Search Premier and other databases.  But it is particularly useful for searching subject areas. This can come in handy when you are trying to narrow the focus of your research topic.  It’s easy to get results.

Coverage: indexes over 2,000 periodicals
Years: 1980-
Topics: all fields, including art, business, education, ethnic studies, government, history, literature, political science, psychology, religion, much more.
Scholarly Articles? selected
Fulltext Articles? selected
Off-campus Access: Yes
Persistent Article Links? Yes
Vendor/Publisher: Gale

Search strategies

1. Start at the Subject Guide screen.
2. Enter your terms.
3. Limit your search by peer-reviewed materials, by publication, date or full-text.

4.  Click on a subdivision of the topic to narrow and focus your results.

InfoTrac subdivisions

 

Click on the Heading or Subdivision link to bring up a list of articles.
5.  Look for a PDF or Full Text link to get the whole article, if you don’t see these, click FIND IT to Search for it in Print or Another Database.

InfoTrac results