New, Enhanced and Other Resources Available To WIU Library Users During COVID: Home
Numerous publishers have provided WIU Libraries access to academic content beyond our normal subscribed resources. This guide lists these new resources and other freely available content. This list will be updated as resources become available.
ONLINE RESOURCES AVAILABLE TO WIU COMMUNITY DURING COVID
In recognition of the challenges to learning caused by the COVID-19 event, numerous publishers have spontaneously and generously offered WIU Libraries free or expanded online access to academic content over-and-beyond what we are generally able to purchase. The library is also reaching out to academic content providers as well in order to provide as many online resources as possible to our community during this disruption of our normal academic routine. The new resources are listed below in alphabetical order and include what academic subjects they cover. Clicking on the name of the resource will take you to it. If the provider has available a more fuller description of the resource, there is a clickable link called "About". Links to this new content can also be found on the Libraries' database list at http://wiu.edu/libraries/databases/ . These new resources on this page are marked with the [+EXTRA] icon and highlighted in yellow. Every effort has been made to make sure the links work properly from off campus and can be used by our community without having a username or password. If you have issues with gaining access to the resources, please contact the Libraries' Reference Department at http://wiu.edu/libraries/help/. As the library is continuously receiving offers of access, this list will be frequently updated so please check back to see if new resources have been added.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts - ACCESS ENDS 6/30/20 (Art, Fashion and Textiles, Design and Illustration, Photography, Film and Media, Architecture and Interiors, Marketing and Advertising, Visual Arts) [About]
JSTOR - ACCESS ENDS 6/30/20 - Access now includes Multi-Discipline Journal Archive Collections XI-XV, All Discipline-Specific Journal Archive Collections, All Books, All Primary Sources, All Thematic Collections (Multidisciplinary) [About]
Project Muse - ACCESS ENDS FOR MOST PUBLISHERS 6/30/20. CLICK "ABOUT" FOR DATES BY PUBLISHER - Access now includes journals and books made available by selected publishers. For continually updated list of publishers making content available click "About" (Multidisciplinary) [About]
SAGE Books - ACCESS ENDS 6/28/20[Use the link labeled "Click here to browse all books" and then select "Content available to me" to see complete list of available titles] (Business & Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Geography, Earth & Environmental Science, Health & Social Care, Media, Communication & Cultural Studies, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology)
SAGE Knowledge - ACCESS ENDS 6/28/20Search Books, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Videos and more (Multidisciplinary) [About]
SAGE Reference - ACCESS ENDS 6/28/20[Use the link labeled "Click here to browse all reference" and then select "Content available to me" to see complete list of available titles.] (Business & Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Geography, Earth & Environmental Science, Health & Social Care, Media, Communication & Cultural Studies, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Sociology)