Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide has been developed to provide links to resources that might be useful in research about the history of Illinois. It provides information on searching WestCat and I-Share, indexes that can be used to locate information about Illinois history and links to digital and other collections that might be useful in doing research about the history of Illinois.
If you have any questions or need assistance, please ask at the Main Reference Desk (2nd Floor, Malpass Library), the Government Publications Information Desk (4th Floor, Malpass Library) or the Quad Cities Library. The Libraries also provide assistance via e-mail.
Other Library Guides
These links go to specific library collections relating to Illinois History.
Archives & Special Collections
The Archival Collection is a record of the university's contribution to knowledge as well as development and operation. Special Collections documents the cultural, economic, and natural heritage of west-central Illinois.Anything in Archives can be pulled and viewed, but there is a procedure for getting materials!The WIU Archives and Special Collections is located on the 6th floor of Malpass Library.
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.; closed on University holidays.For more information call (309) 298-2717, or send e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Civil War Guide
This Library Guide provides links to and information about resources related to Illinois during the Civil War.
WIU Collections Page
The Library has developed a number of in-house collections on specialized topics of particular interest to researchers. Many of these materials have been made possible due to funds from grants and from private endowments. These resources are in a variety of formats: books, periodicals, personal papers, microfilm, CDs, DVDs and sound recordings. They are housed in the main Malpass Library or in the branch libraries.