Statement on Standards of Professional Conduct by the American Historical Association
Research on the American West can be a fascinating venture, offering insights into the historical, cultural, and social aspects of this vast and diverse region. To conduct thorough research, you will need to consult both primary and secondary sources. Here's a guide to help you navigate these resources:
Primary Sources
Newspapers: Newspapers from the time period you are studying can provide firsthand accounts of events and the public sentiment of the time. Libraries and online databases such as the Library of Congress's Chronicling America offer digital access to newspapers from the American West.
Government Documents: Federal, state, county, and city records can be invaluable. The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has a wealth of documents, including census data, land records, and military service records. State archives and local historical societies often have collections of local government documents. You can also find Government Documents information at WIU.
Photographs: Historical photographs can offer a visual understanding of a time period. The Library of Congress, the National Archives, and university libraries often have digitized collections. The Denver Public Library’s Western History Collection is a notable example.
Personal Narratives: Diaries, memoirs, and personal papers give a personal perspective on historical events. These can be found in special collections at university libraries or online through repositories like the Digital Public Library of America.
Letters and Manuscripts: Unpublished manuscripts and correspondence can be found in the special collections and archives of universities and libraries. Primary-source collections, such as the Territorial Papers of the United States, may also be available in digital format.
Published Primary Sources: Many writings from the American West have been collected and published. These can include collections of letters, diaries, or other documents from figures in Western history.
Many of the above relating to Illinois history can be found in the WIU Digital Collection.
Secondary Sources
Monographs: Book-length studies on the American West can provide comprehensive analysis on specific topics. Look for works by reputable historians and published by academic presses. Books from the WIU Libraries can be found in our catalog.
Biographies: Biographies of significant figures from the American West can provide context and analysis of their impact on the region. Ensure that the biographies are well-researched and cite primary sources. Check the catalog to find what WIU owns.
Journal Articles: Peer-reviewed articles from academic journals offer focused studies on aspects of the American West. These can be accessed through online databases such as JSTOR. WIU has a variety of history databases.
Tips for Research
Always evaluate the credibility and relevance of your sources.
Make use of bibliographies and references from secondary sources to locate primary sources.
University and college libraries often provide access to databases and special collections that may not be publicly available.
Digitized collections can be a time-saving resource, but not everything is available online—sometimes in-person visits to archives or the library are necessary.
When using online resources, check if the institution has provided proper citation and context for the documents.
Interlibrary loan services can help you access materials that your local library does not have.
Remember, the aim is to use primary sources to gain original insights and secondary sources to see how other scholars have interpreted these materials. Combining these approaches will allow you to build a well-rounded and substantiated understanding of the American West for your assignment.
