Library Guides: BIOL 570: Nepal: Biological Abstracts vs Google Scholar

Biological Abstracts (via WoS) versus Google Scholar

Should You Start Your Search with Google Scholar?

Well, Google Scholar does have some positives...

works much like the basic Google search engine, so seems familiar
ranks results in order of relevance to try identifying the most useful scholarly resources
displays how many times a specific article has been cited and by whom
provides direct access to full text of articles if they are available for free online
has a few advanced search options

But overall...

Comparing Biological Abstracts to Google Scholar Searching

Biological Abstracts (via Web of Science)	Google Scholar
Has multiple, sophisticated categorizations of content (specific to biology) which allows for focused searching and brings more relevant results.	Does not have much categorization of content so searching is less powerful: it’s harder to focus.
Allows users to sort results according to date, relevance, publication, first author, and other elements.	Only allows date and relevance sorting of results list.
Identifies results by type of material (academic journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.).	Does not clearly specify what type of material (academic journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.) is in the results list.
Gives you seamless access to full text of an electronic article if WIU Libraries subscribe to that journal/database. Refers to print access we have at WIU if not available electronically.	Contains links to full text of some free electronic articles [as well as WIU-available content if using optimized link]. Some links point to fee-based content, however.
Contains entries for pre-published articles, but updates information to the final, published version of an article when it becomes available.	Contains links to many pre-published manuscripts, which may or may not be problematic.
Allows users to create their own WoS account to save searches and search results (using sophisticated db options).	If you are logged in to a Google account, you will be able to save articles and create alerts. But the search structure and results remain less focused.

Adapted from: https://howardcc.libguides.com/c.php?g=52041&p=428654

WIU-Optimized Link to GS

WIU-Optimized Link to Google Scholar
Launching WIU Libraries' edition of Google Scholar connects WIU’s collections to Google Scholar so that the “Find It @ WIU” link will appear in results lists. You may be asked to log into your WIU ECOM account.

Google vs Web of Science Activity

Google vs Web of Science Activity
"The assignment has students search the same topic in Google and the Web of Science or BIOSIS database. They are asked to pick one result from each search, identify its components (title, author, year) and identify the container of the information (journal, book, news, etc.). They are then asked to compare and reflect on the different results."

Google Scholar and WoS Collaboration

Google Scholar and Web of Science Collaboration
"Clarivate is excited to be collaborating with Google Scholar to provide links between Web of Science Core Collection and Google Scholar. Easier access to Web of Science from the Open Web will simplify the discovery process and save researchers time.
Researchers often perform a quick search with Google Scholar before turning to Web of Science for a.comprehensive view of how a particular article, journal or author impacts the world of scholarly research. Linking from Google Scholar to Web of Science will make this process easier and faster."