Library Guides: MUS 390: European Art Music I: Databases, Journal Articles

Databases | Music Research

Best bets for MUS 591

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journal archive that includes full-text. It currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. We have digitized more than 50 million pages and continue to digitize approximately 3 million pages annually. Our activities, our fee structure, and the way we manage the service and its resources reflect our historical commitment to serve colleges and universities as a trusted digital archive, and our responsibility to publishers as stewards of their content.
Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP) This link opens in a new window indexes/abstracts 430+ international music periodicals; full text for 110 journals
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Index to articles, images and audio; selected full-text
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC-Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
Excellent choice for Master of Music Education majors.

Note: ERIC is searchable through EBSCO. See Database Search Tips to the right for more info.

Secondary options for MUS 591

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Coverage: 4,700 full-text journals; 8,200 scholarly journals (index/abstracts) Years: dates vary Topics: all areas; including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science and education.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window A collection of major bibliographic databases for all fields, including business, education, health, government, history, literature, political science, psychology, religion, sociology, and leisure
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window

Additional Music Databases

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Thousands of recordings, a musicology section, works analysis, and ear training.
IPA This link opens in a new window
Transcriptions & literal translations of opera arias and art song texts (11,000+ titles)
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, images and audio; selected full-text
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Electronic journal collection in digital humanities and social sciences.

IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
Scores, parts, recordings, text, and more all in public domain

Using WestCat to Access Journals

If you know the journal you want, but you don't know which WIU database has access to that journal, you can search by the Title of the Journal or by the journal's ISSN.

WestCat Journal Search

Search Databases by Subject

If you topic is interdisciplinary, you may want to check outside of strictly music databases.
Search Databases by Subject

Curious if we have access to an article database?
Search our A to Z List

Database Search Tips

Request Books, Scores, or Articles Beyond WIU's Access

If a journal is not held in WIU's resources, you can request articles from that journal using ILLiad.

To request books or scores, use I-Share by selecting "All I-Share Libraries" from the WestCat search bar.

ILLiad (Ordering Books & Other Materials, OR Articles)

Scroll down to #3 for instruction on completing an ILLiad request.

EBSCO

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
You can search multiple EBSCO products at the same time. You can select ALL or you can choose which are most applicable to your research topic. For music students, that may include ERIC (education), PsycARTICLES, or Academic Search Complete.