SPAN 340 Spanish for Law Enforcement: English Sources

Academic Search Complete
This database is one of our largest collections of articles and covers all kinds of topics. It's a good place to start when you have several concepts you want to find addressed in one article, because it's easy to do keyword searching and get results. However, you should pay attention to the "Subject" options that are listed to the left of the results. If your search terms are different, you may not be finding everything on the topic. Use their terminology for better results.
 

NexisUni: Advanced News Search

• Click on Advanced Search
• Choose the News tab (circled)
• Type your term(s) (i.e. "domestic violence")
• Drop down menu at right and choose Headline and Lead Sections to find the most relevant articles.
• At results page, use limit options in left sidebar.

WestCat Library Catalog

• Search the books and videos owned by the library.
• Use the Advanced Search screen for more search options & limits.

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Our scholarly database for criminal justice and criminology, indexing journal articles and books.

Criminal Justice (ProQuest)

A smaller law enforcement database indexing magazines for criminal justice professionals as well as scholarly articles and books.

Nexis Uni: Law Reviews and Journals

Search the Law Reviews portion of NexisUni to see articles that consider the legal aspects of an issue.

• Under Search, drop down the Select a Specific Content Type menu and click on the News link..
• Click on Law Reviews and Journals under Law Reviews and Journals.
• At results page, use limit options in left sidebar.

Nexis Uni: Supreme Court Cases

Search Supreme Court decisions by keyword (see image at right):

• Under What are you interested in?, choose A Publication
• Type a keyword in Search for something specific? box
• Begin to type US Supreme in Find Publication box and choose U.S. Supreme Court Cases Lawyer's Edition

Sociological Abstracts

Our scholarly database for sociology, indexing over 1,800 periodicals, plus books, chapters, dissertations, and papers.

Social Services Abstracts

Indexes over 1,400 periodicals on health and social policy, professional issues in social work, social work education, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, welfare services.