Slavery and Trafficking: Reference

Reference books on slavery worldwide can be found in the REF. HT 861 section:

• The Historical encyclopedia of world slavery - REF. HT861 .H57 1997
• Chronology of world slavery - REF. HT861 .R63 1999
• Macmillan encyclopedia of world slavery - REF. HT861 .M24 1998

Books on slavery in the United States will be in the REF. E 441-450 area, such as:

• Slavery in America : from colonial times to the Civil War - REF. E441 .S36 2000
• Enslaved women in America : an encyclopedia - REF. E443 .E57 2012
• The Underground Railroad : an encyclopedia of people, places, and operations - REF. E450 .S65 2008

For information on sex trafficking specifically, try this title in REF. HQ 115:

• Encyclopedia of prostitution and sex work - REF. HQ115 .E53 2006

There are also entries on sex trafficking and trafficking of women in some titles in REF. HQ 1115:

• Encyclopedia of women in today’s world - REF. HQ1115 .E55 2011
• Routledge international encyclopedia of women - REF. HQ1115 .R69 2000

Also see this title in REF. HV 6250.3 for human trafficking in general:

• Encyclopedia of victimology and crime prevention - REF. HV6250.3.U5 E55 2010

Some online reference sources for information on slavery in the United States:

• Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (includes a number of entries on American abolitionists)
• Encyclopedia of African American Society 
• Encyclopedia of Black Studies

Sources for reference information on worldwide slavery (past and present):

• Encyclopedia of Anthropology
• Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
• Encyclopedia of World Poverty
• Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery