Native Americans: Reference

Many of the reference books on Native American culture and history will be in the E76 to E98 range -- some examples:

• Encyclopedia of Native American tribes - REF. E76.2 .W35 2006
• Encyclopedia of Native American history - REF. E77 .E53 2011
• Encyclopedia of Illinois Indians - REF. E78.I3 E53 1998
• Native Americans (American political history series) - REF. E93 .N32 2002
• Native American women : a biographical dictionary - REF. E98.W8 B38 2001
• Dictionary of Native American mythology - REF. E98.R3 G46 1992

Some information on Native American tribes and nations can also be found in the E184 section on multiculturalism in America:

• Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America - REF. E184.A1 G14 1995
• Encyclopedia of multiculturalism: REF. E184.A1 E58 1994

The section on world cultures around GN300 may also be useful:

• Encyclopedia of world cultures - REF. GN307 .E53 1991
• Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life - REF. GN333 .W67 1998
• Peoples of the world. North Americans : the culture, geographical setting, and historical background of 37 North American peoples - REF. GN378 .P47 v.2 1991

For reference books specifically about Native American legal rights, look in KF8203:

• The ABC-CLIO companion to the Native American Rights movement - REF. KF8203.36 .G76 1996
• Treaties with American Indians : an encyclopedia of rights, conflicts, and sovereignty - REF. KF8203.6 .T74 2008

Reference books on Native American literature are primarily in PS153 or thereabouts:

• Encyclopedia of American Indian literature - REF. PS153.I52 E53 2007
• Native American literatures : an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes - REF. PS153.I52 W47 1999
• Native American writers of the United States - REF. PS21.D5 v.175

• Encyclopedia of Anthropology
  Includes entries on some topics related to Native American tribes and nations.
• Encyclopedia of Global Religion
  With some entries on Native North American religion.
• Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
  Includes entries on tribes and nations in the American West, as well as effects of European immigration on these groups.
• Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
  Helpful for background on stereotypes, racism, and rights movements (such as the American Indian Movement).