Daily Life: Reference

For current daily life in cultures throughout the world, try these titles:

• Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life - REF. GN333 .W67 1998
• Countries and their cultures - REF. GN307 .C68 2001
• Culturgrams : the nations around us - REF. GT150 .C85 1996
• The global etiquette guide to Europe and The global etiquette guide to Asia - REF. BJ1838 .F67

For daily life in different time periods through history, these worldwide and US-focused titles may be helpful:

• Daily life through world history in primary documents - REF. CB69 .D35 2009
• Encyclopedia of society and culture in the medieval world - REF. CB351 .E53 2008
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life in America - REF. E169.1 .G7553 2009
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures - REF. E169.1.G73
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present - REF. GT31 .G74 2004

The "World Eras" series may be helpful for specific time periods and locations:

• Classical Greek civilization, 800-323 B.C.E. - REF. DF77 .W67 2001
• Imperial China, 617-1644 - REF. DS749.3 .I46 2003
• Ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E. - REF. DS69.5 .W35 2005
• West African kingdoms, 500-1590 - REF. DT476 .W48 2004
• Ancient Egypt, 2615-332 B.C.E. - REF. DT61 .A55 2002

Other titles throughout the reference section cover specific aspects of daily life:

• The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through American history 1900 to the present - REF. GT615 .G74 2008
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through world history - REF. GT507 .G74 2008
• Encyclopedia of food and culture - REF. GT2850 .E53 2003
• You eat what you are : people, culture and food traditions - REF. GT2850 .B37 1999
• Sports and games through history - REF. GV571 .S584
• Twentieth-century teen culture by the decades - REF. HQ799.U65 R65 1999
• Health and wellness in colonial America - REF. R702 .T36 2012
• Health and wellness in antiquity through the Middle Ages - REF. R135 .Y67 2012

• Country Studies / Area Handbooks
  Published by the Federal Research Division, these electronic books on individual countries cover a variety of topics, including the history, geography, religion, and customs of the country.
• Who We Are: Asians ; Who We Are: Blacks ; Who We Are: Hispanics
  A series of titles examining attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force status, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth of these three ethnic groups in the United States.
• European History Online
  Examines 500 years of modern European history regarding religion, politics, science and law, to art and music, as well as the economy, technology and the military.