Business History: Reference

The section around HC102 has historical information about industries and people in business:

• Icons of Business - REF. HC102.5.A2 D74 2007
• African-American business leaders and entrepreneurs - REF. HC102.5.A2 K73 2004
• Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography - REF. HC102 .E5; Some titles in the set include:
  • The Automobile industry, 1896-1920 - REF. HC102.E5 A96 1990
  • Banking and finance, 1913-1989 - REF. HC102.E5 B362 1990

For the history of individual businesses, look in HD2721:

• International directory of company histories (in print to volume 114, continued online; see link at right) - REF. HD2721 .I57

For labor history, try HD4800 - HD8000:

• St. James encyclopedia of labor history worldwide - REF. HD4839 .S74 2004
• Working Americans, 1880-2000 - REF. HD8066 .D47

Historical advertising and marketing campaigns can be found near HF5800 to 6200:

• Advertising age encyclopedia of advertising - REF. HF5803 .A38 2003
• Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns - REF. HF5837 .E53
• A century of American icons : 100 products and slogans from the 20th century consumer culture - REF. HF6161.B4 C46 2002

See also the other guides created for Management and Marketing classes for more sources.

• International Directory of Company Histories
  Histories provide a company overview, describe major marketing campaigns and notable activities, highlight principal competitors, and offer a list of further readings. Volumes 100 onward are full-text online.  See also the print version for older volumes (call number at left).
• Hoover's Company Records
  Featuring in-depth profiles of companies, Hoover's reports provide access to up-to-date business information, as well as background about the company history.
• Encyclopedia of American Industries, 6th ed.
  Essays on each industry (arranged by SIC code) include an overview identifying trends and issues, followed by discussion of the industry's structure, historical development, and current conditions, as well as links to further reading.
• Historical Statistics of the United States
  Statistics from the US Census Bureau on manufacturing, labor force, wages, and more from 1789 to the present.
• Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
  Volume 3 of the Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (1 & 2 are print). Includes historical background about companies and details about historical and recent marketing strategies.