Drugs and Alcohol: Reference

For information about drugs and alcohol as a social issue, look in HV 5000-5800:

• Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior - REF. HV5804 .E53 2009
• The war on drugs : an international encyclopedia - REF. HV5804 .C47 1999
• Illicit drug policies, trafficking, and use the world over - REF. HV5801 .R618 2005
• Alcohol and temperance in modern history : an international encyclopedia - REF. HV5017 .A43 2003
• The slang and jargon of drugs and drink - REF. HV4998 .S64 1986

Other titles with a more medical focus can be found in RM 316:

• Buzzed : the straight facts about the most used and abused drugs from alcohol to ecstasy - REF. RM316 .K84 2003
• The encyclopedia of addictive drugs - REF. RM316 .M555 2002
• Drugs and society - REF. RM316 .D765 2005

Also try these titles near RC 563 for information about drug and alcohol addiction:

• Encyclopedia of addictions - REF. RC563.4 .H65 2009
• The encyclopedia of addictions and addictive behaviors - REF. RC564 .G95 2006

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Covers all aspects of the domain of behavioral medicine; look here especially for information about drug or alcohol addiction.

Crime in Illinois
Compiles crimes reported by Illinois jurisdictions; includes statistics on drug crime arrests.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Covers a variety of topics on crime and punishment, including illegal drug use, drug trafficking, links between alcohol abuse and crime, and more.

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
May be helpful especially for information about youth alcohol and drug use, as well as juvenile criminal justice responses.

Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
Information on drugs and alcohol as related to street crime (drug dealers, effects on crime rates, needle exchange programs etc.)

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Includes statistics on alcohol and drug use, public opinion, arrests, convictions, sentencing, and more.