Fashion: Reference

A number of reference books on clothing and fashion are located in the GT 500 area:

• The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through American history 1900 to the present - REF. GT615 .G74 2008
• Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion - REF. GT507 .E54 2010
• Fashion in the Western world, 1500-1990 - REF. GT580 .Y37 1992
• Fashion, costume, and culture : clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear through the ages - REF. GT511 .P46 2004
• What people wore when : a complete illustrated history of costume from ancient times to the nineteenth century for every level of society - REF. GT511 .L474 2008
• Feet and footwear : a cultural encyclopedia - REF. GT2130 .D45 2009

Another section of reference books, with more of a focus on the fashion industry, is in the TT 500 area:

• Contemporary fashion - REF. TT505.A1 C66 2002
• The Fairchild encyclopedia of accessories - REF. TT503 .T67 2003
• The fashion resource book : men - REF. TT617 .L42 2014
• Encyclopedia of hair : a cultural history - REF. TT957 .S46 2006

For information on American fashion in specific time periods or regions, these titles in the E 169 section have chapters on fashion:

• American decades - REF. E169.1 .A42
• American decades primary sources - REF. E169.1 .A425
• The Greenwood encyclopedia of American regional cultures - REF. E169.1.G73

• Complete Costume Dictionary
• Definitions of fashion terminology across time periods and around the world.  Also includes some illustrations.
• Encyclopedia of African American Society
  A source for clothing and hair fashion from an African American perspective.
• Encyclopedia of Body Image and Human Appearance
  A scholarly reference book examining how people's outer physical characteristics and their inner perceptions and attitudes about their own appearance (body image) affect their lives. Includes entries on clothing, cosmetics, and hair.
• St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2nd ed.
  Information about current and historical popular culture.  Look in the index for "fashion", "hairstyles", or "footwear" to see the variety of entries on fashion topics.