Symbols: Reference

A number of reference books on symbols are in the call number range AZ 108:

• The Continuum encyclopedia of symbols - REF. AZ108 .B4313 1994
• The complete dictionary of symbols - REF. AZ108 .T74 2005
• Symbol sourcebook; an authoritative guide to international graphic symbols - REF. AZ108 .D74
• Reverse symbolism dictionary : symbols listed by subject - REF. AZ108 .R48 1992

A handful of reference books in the B call numbers may be helpful for symbolism in dreams and mythology:

• The dream encyclopedia - REF. BF1091 .L53 2009
• Man, myth & magic : the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion and the unknown - REF. BF1407 .M34 1995
• Dictionary of symbols - REF. BL603 .L5413 1991
• Dictionary of classical mythology : symbols, attributes & associations - REF. BL715 .B44 1982

A couple of titles in G call numbers could be helpful for symbols in folklore and traditions:

• Dictionary of mythology, folklore and symbols - REF. GR35 .J6
• Holiday symbols and customs - REF. GT3930 .T48 2003

For symbols in art, try these titles in N:

• Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art - REF. N7560 .H34 1974
• Saints and their emblems - REF. N8080 .D7 1916 1971r
• Encyclopedia of comparative iconography : themes depicted in works of art - REF. N7560 .E53 1998

A couple of titles in T 223 include business logos/trademarks:

• Symbols of America - REF. T223.V2 M7 1986
• Symbols of power & progress : American trademarks 1930 to 1950 - REF. T223.V2 M4 1983

Flags of the World
Graphic representations of flags. Searchable by country, geographic location, keyword or title.

Information Please Almanac
Fast facts on a number of topics; includes US state symbols, modern Olympic symbols, holiday symbols, and more.