Statistics can be useful in evaluating environmental issues, such as overpopulation, deforestation and desertification. The following sites could be useful in finding statistical data on a specific topic.
The UN Statistics Division collects data on a wide variety of topics, including economic, demographic and environmental statistics. They also collect a suite of statistics on International Development. Data can be mapped using Geographic Information System software (ask at the Government Information office, 4th floor, Malpass Library).
The World Bank provides data on over 1200 topics including agriculture, development, infrastructure, aid, labor, social issues, economic policy, poverty, education, environment, science, technology and finances. The Data Catalog tab allows users to browse and sort World Bank data sets by popularity, alphabetically and revision date.
A statistical report from the World Bank that provides data on the progress of development for World countries and regions. It includes economic, environmental, social and trade data from 1960 to the present.
Provides economic, environmental and social statistics for World Countries from the OECD. Includes agriculture, demographics, environment, health, labor, energy, economics, and other topics.
Clicking on the Data tab on this site provides links to sources of demographic, social and economic statistics for World countries including some data back to 1950. It includes both summary statistics and a list of tables that include population and vital statistics, and data on migration, marital status, contraceptive use, religion, language, and literacy. Data can be displayed in a browser or downloaded.
Data.census.gov represents a new chapter in the Census Bureau’s dissemination approach by centralizing data access and allowing for a more rapid response to customers.
An annual publication from the United States Geological Survey on the mineral and material industries in the United States and over 175 foreign countries. It contains information about over 90 mineral commodities, statistical data on materials and minerals and information about new developments, economic and technical trends.
The EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates energy information to promote sound policies, efficient markets, and improve understanding of energy issues and their importance to the economy and the environment.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international issues for 266 countries of the World. It includes summary statistics on a wide variety of topics and copyright-free maps of each country. Remember to cite the source of the data & maps!
