Welcome to the Music Library Resources for Faculty page!
This guide is an introduction to the Music Library's resources that are available to support your teaching and research. It includes information about library instruction, circulation policies, and reserve policies.
Please feel free to contact me at any time with any questions, comments, or suggestions. I'd love to know what the Music Library can do for you and your classes, and I'm more than happy to help!
Follow this link to see the when the library is open:
If there are items that you would like to see added to the collection, please let me know!
Although we still have a limited budget, I always maintain a "wish list" of items that will guide future decisions in developing the collection. This list also comes in handy when I am speaking with potential donors, as I can give them specific examples of items that will benefit the Music Library's collection.
Faculty requests are a high priority for purchase, although those which do not confirm to the Music Library's collection development policy may not be ordered.
The Music Library houses a collection which includes over 12,000 books on music; 18,000 performing, study, and scholarly scores; 11,000 recordings; 500 videos/DVDs; and about 50 periodical titles as well as electronic access to many more. The collection focuses mainly on Western art music from the Middle Ages to the present. It also supports the School of Music curriculum in music therapy, music business, jazz, popular music, and world music. Twelve computer stations (10 PCs, 2 Macs) provide audio, video, and online research access, and there is an additional audio station to play cassettes and LPs.
In addition to its physical collection, the Music Library provides you with access to a variety of online resources. The Music Library subscribes to online databases including Oxford Music Online, IIMP, JSTOR, IPA Source, and Naxos Music Library, among others. Also noteworthy is the WIU Libraries Recital Archive, in which you can find recordings of your own recitals that take place on campus!
You can access all of these databases off-campus, but you will need to use a VPN connection. WIU offers a clientless VPN through your browser, as well as a VPN client that can be downloaded and installed on your computer.
The Music Library also maintains a curated list of freely accessible websites. Recommendations of additional websites to include are always welcome!
