Skip to main content
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

Choosing & Evaluating Journals, Publishers & Conferences: Discipline Ranking Lists

This guide provides information on choosing and evaluating journals for possible publication.

Discipline Ranking Lists

In some disciplines, lists of highly ranked journals have been published in books on writing for that discipline or in articles describing research done to rank the most important journals in that field. These lists are compiled from surveys of notable people in the discipline or based on metrics (such as impact factor and citation rates). They can be found by searching SUBJECT indexes for phrases such as:

JOURNAL* AND RANK* AND Name of Discipline

Some indexes, such as Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar) and GeoRef, publish lists of journals that are indexed immediately on publication. Check to see if a journal is on the list of journals that are given high priority for indexing for an index in your field.

It is also possible to find books on writing for various disciplines in WestCat or I-Share. The list below contains a few such titles:

General

Belcher, Wendy L. Writing Your Journal Article in 12 Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2009. Excellence in Teaching Collection Z 471 .B45 2009 (Very useful journal review form on page 127.)

Agriculture

Core Agricultural Journals in AGRICOLA - this list of core journals in agriculture was developed in 2002, and update in 2009.

Biological & Agricultural Index Title List - a list of the titles indexed in Biological & Agricultural Index.

Anthropology

Miller, Jason E. and Schmid, Oona, eds. How to Get Published In Anthropology: A Guide For Students And Young Professionals. Lanham, Md.: AltaMira Press, 2012. Available through I-SHARE

Art

Barnet, Sylvan, 2007. A Short Guide to Writing about Art. 9th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall. Malpass Library Reference N7476 .B37 2008

Biological Science (Also see Sciences)

Pechenik, Jan A., 2004. A Short Guide to Writing about Biology. New York: Pearson/Longman. Malpass Library Stacks QH304 .P43 2004

Biological & Agricultural Index Title List - a list of the titles indexed in Biological & Agricultural Index.

Business & Accounting

Harzing's Journal Quality List - The Journal Quality List is a collection of journal rankings compiled from various sources that has been developed to assist researchers to identify journals that meet an appropriate standards for their institution. The list includes journals in Business History, Communications, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance & Accounting, Management, International Business, Innovation, Marketing, MIS & Knowledge management, Organisational & Behavioral Studies, Human Resource Management, Industrial Relations, Operations Research, Management Science, Production & Operations Management, Public Sector Management, Psychology, Sociology and Tourism.

UK Chartered Association of Business Schools Academic Journal Guide - The Chartered Association of Business Schools in the UK has developed a Guide to academic journals in Business. The Guide was developed based on an evaluation of hundreds of journals on peer review practices, and statistical data. It is available online to people who sign up for access. Copies are also available from other sites.

Chemistry (Also see Sciences)

CAPlusSM Core Journal List - a list of journals that are indexed in CAPlusSM within 7 days.

Coghill, Anne M.Garson, Lorrin R. (Eds.), 2006. The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information. Washington, D.C.: American Chemical Society. Malpass Library Reference, Currens Hall PHYS SC. QD8.5 .A25 2006

Ebel, Hans Friedrich., Bliefert, Claus.Russey, William E., 2004. The Art of Scientific Writing: From Student Reports to Professional Publications in Chemistry and Related Fields. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH. Malpass Library Stacks, Currens Hall, QD9.15 .E23 2004

Communication

Knapp, Mark L., and John A. Daly. A Guide to Publishing in Scholarly Communication Journals. New York: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2004. Malpass Library Reference PN146 .K52 2004

Economics

Cabell Publishing, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance. 10th edition. Cabell Pub. Co. Available through the WIU Libraries' databases page.

Thomson, William. 2011 A Guide for the Young Economist. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press. Available through I-Share

Education

Cabell Publishing, 2005. Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods 2005-2006. Beaumont, Tex.: Cabell Pub Co. Malpass Library Reference Z286.E3 C322 (also available in the Quad Cities Library)

Cabell Publishing, 2005. Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration, 2005-2006. 7th edition. Beaumont, Tex.: Cabell Pub. Co. WIU Quad Cities Reference Z286.E3 C323

Geller, Linda G., 2004. Electronic Journals for the Education Library: A Classified List of Resources Related to K–12 Education. In: Patricia O'Brien Libutti, ed. Digital Resources and Librarians: Case Studies in Innovation, Invention, and Implementation. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Geology (Earth Sciences)

GeoRef Priority Journals - a list of journals that are quickly indexed in GeoRef.

Health Professions (Also see Sciences)

American Medical Association. AMA Manual of Style. 10th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. Malpass Library Reference R119 .A533 2007

Daly, Jeanette M., 2000. Writer's Guide to Nursing Periodicals. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications. Available through I-Share

Language and Literature

Mackesy, Eileen M., and Karen Mateyak, comps. MLA Directory of Periodicals: A Guide to Journals and Series in Languages and Literatures. New York: Modern Language Association of America. (Available through MLA Database)

Law

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. 19th ed. Compiled by the editors of the Columbia Law Review, the Harvard Law Review, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, and the Yale Law Journal. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard Law Review Association, 2010. Available through I-Share. (17th Edition available at the Government Information Reference KF 245.B56 ed. 17 2000

Mathematics

Krantz, Steven G. Mathematical Publishing: A Guidebook. Providence, R.I.: American Mathematical Society, 2006. Available through I-Share

Music

Irvine, Demar. Writing about Music. 3d ed., rev. and enl. by Mark A. Radice. Portland, Ore.: Amadeus, 1999. WIU Music Library ML3797 .I79 1999

Holoman, D. Kern, 2014. Writing about Music: A Style Sheet. Berkeley: University of California Press. Available through I-Share

Nature Writing

Heintzman, James, Michael Gross, and Ronald Zimmerman, eds. Making the Right Connections: A Guide for Nature Writers. Stevens Point, Wis.: UW-SP Foundation Press, 1988. Malpass Library Stacks QH14 .H45 1988

Nursing

Blanco, M., & Love, N. (Eds.). (2016). Annotated bibliography of journals for educational scholarship AAMC-Regional Groups on Educational Affairs (GEA) - MESRE.

Green, Sheila; Herbert, Bruce (2017). Quality Indicators for Journals of Medical Education Scholarship.

Philosophy and Religion

Hoffman, Eric, 1997. Guidebook for Publishing Philosophy. Bowling Green, Ohio: Philosophy Documentation Center and the American Philosophical Association. Available through I-Share

Physics (Also see Sciences)

Author Resource Center. American Institute of Physics

Political Science

Yoder, Stephen, ed., 2008. Publishing Political Science: APSA Guide to Writing and Publishing. Washington, D.C.: American Political Science Association. Available through I-Share

Psychology

American Psychological Association, 2010. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 5th ed. Washington, D.C.: APA. Malpass Library Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010b

Beins, Bernard C. and Beins, Agatha M., 2011. Effective Writing in Psychology: Papers, Posters, and Presentation. Hoboken: Wiley. Available Online

Mclnerney, Dennis Michael. Publishing Your Psychology Research: A Guide to Writing for Journals in Psychology and Related Fields. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2002. Available through I-Share

PsychInfo Journals Indexed Cover to Cover - journals that are fully indexed in PsychInfo.

Sciences

Council of Science Editors. Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 7th ed. Reston, Va.: CSE, 2006. Malpass Library Reference T11 .S386 2006

Day, Robert A., 2011. How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper. 7th ed. New York: Greenwood. Available through I-Share

Hancock, Elsie. Ideas into Words: Mastering the Craft of Science Writing. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2003. Malpass Library Stacks T11 .H255 2003

Katz, Michael J., 2006. From Research to Manuscript: A Guide to Scientific Writing. New York: Springer. Available Online

Montgomery, Scott L., 2003. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. Malpass Library Stacks T10.5 .M65 2003

Social Sciences

American Sociological Association, 2010. Style Guide. Washington, D.C.: American Sociological Association. Malpass Library Reference HM73 .A54 2010

Becker, Howard S., and Pamela Richards, 2007. Writing for Social Scientists: How to Start and Finish Your Thesis, Book, or Article. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007. Malpass Library Stacks H61.8 .B43 2007

Pequegnat, Willo, Stover, Ellen and Boyce, Cheryl A., Eds., 2011. How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application: A Guide for Social and Behavioral Scientists. New York: Springer. Available Online