Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where is the journal indexed? If articles in a journal can only be found by using a search engine (e.g. Google Scholar), it may be difficult for other researchers to find your article. Some disreputable publishers may claim they are indexed in a particular database.
- Search the journal title in Ulrichs Global Serials Directory. Information on journal indexing is available in the Abstracting & Indexing section of the record for the journal.
- Always check the list of titles indexed by that database to ensure that the title is listed (information in Ulrichs is supplied by the publisher, and some disreputable publishers may provide misleading information). Always double check publisher's claims.
The WIU Libraries subscribe to over 120 Indexes and Databases on a wide variety of subjects that can be used to locate journal articles and other publications on a topic. In addition, the Libraries provide access to digital collections such as JSTOR and Project MUSE. It is possible to view the titles included in these indexes by examining the title lists on database vendors' websites.
NOTE OF CAUTION: Some disreputable publishers claim that they are indexed in a database by displaying vendor logos on their websites. Vendors like EBSCO, ProQuest and Clarivate Analytics' Web of Science (formerly published by ISI and Thomson Reuters) provide more than one database. If a publisher states that it is indexed by one of these companies, and does not list the name of an individual index, check to see if the title is indexed in a subject index (NOT a general index). A list of these indexes is in the box below. If you need help, contact your Library Liaison or Linda Zellmer.
WIU Libraries Liaisons by Department
Library Liaisons serve as information consultants for academic departments and establish and maintain an open channel of communication between the Libraries and academic departments. As liaisons, librarians help fulfill the Libraries Mission of identifying, collecting, and providing access to information in support of teaching and research at Western Illinois University.
Ulrich's International Periodicals
Ulrich's is an index that lists over 300,000 periodicals and journals by title, and provides information on the publisher, indexing and subjects. It can be used to determine whether a journal is peer reviewed (refereed).
Database Vendor Title Lists
EBSCO Database Title Lists
The web site that provides information on titles indexed in the EBSCO Databases. Look at a subject database rather than a general database, such as Academic Search or Reader's Guide.
ProQuest Title Lists
Title lists for the ProQuest databases, which includes such titles as ABI/Inform. Look at a subject index in your field rather than a general database.
Index & Database Title Lists
Most databases provide a list of journals that are indexed. The following links connect to pages that provide title lists for indexes in a number of different fields, including indexes that are available through the WIU Libraries as well as other important subject indexes (such as the Citation Indexes from Thomson Reuters). These lists could be useful in finding journals in a given subject area. In particular, look at the journals that are given priority or listed as core journals in an index.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index Titles by Subject
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is published by Thomson-Reuters. This site can be used to view a list of titles related to a specific subject that are indexed in Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Biological Abstracts Titles by Subject
This website can be used to find journals related to the biological sciences in a particular subject area.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
A search tool that can be used to determine if a journal is or has been indexed by Chemical Abstracts since 1907.
ERIC Title List
The list of titles indexed in ERIC, an index to information related to all aspects of education.
Journals Indexed in EconLit
The list of titles indexed in EconLit, an index developed by the American Economic Association.
Journals Indexed in Medline
This is a list of journals that are indexed in MEDLINE from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) online catalog. To determine whether a journal is indexed in MEDLINE, search the Journal Title or ISSN in the NLM Online Catalog. When looking at the full record, there will be a field in the record that says Current Indexing Status: Currently Indexed for MEDLINE.
Gale / CENGAGE Database Title Lists
A website that provides access to the title lists of databases and indexes published by Gale / CENGAGE.
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journal archive that includes full-text. It currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. We have digitized more than 50 million pages and continue to digitize approximately 3 million pages annually. Our activities, our fee structure, and the way we manage the service and its resources reflect our historical commitment to serve colleges and universities as a trusted digital archive, and our responsibility to publishers as stewards of their content.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (pub. info only)
Provides information on the acceptance / rejection rates of journals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Science Citation Index Titles by Subject
Science Citation Index is published by Clarivate Analytics. This site can be used to view a list of titles related to a specific subject that are indexed in Science Citation Index.
Social Science Citation Index Titles by Subject
Social Science Citation Index is published by Clarivate Analytics. This site can be used to view a list of titles related to a specific subject that are indexed in Social Science Citation Index.
SCOPUS Title List
A list of titles indexed by SCOPUS, an index developed by Elsevier.