Internet Resources on Weeds

Government agencies and societies produce a wide variety of agriculture related information, including reports, data, hearings, bills, laws and proceedings. Intergovernmental and non-governmental agencies and scholarly societies provide services and information on agriculture, forestry, fisheries and nutrition. Scholarly societies are organizations that meet to exchange ideas about a particular subject. Some government information can be located using WestCat and I-Share. The links on this page can also be used to locate information from governmental and non-governmental organizations and scholarly societies.

Universities & Agriculture Extension Offices

Extension Search
A website that can be used to do a Google search for publications and resources provided by Cooperative Extension Service groups at over 70 Land-Grant universities.
Home, Yard & Garden Pest Newsletter (University of Illinois Extension)
The University of Illinois Extension Home Yard & Garden Pest Newsletter provides information on a variety of yard & garden pests, including Insects, Plant Diseases and Weeds. It also provides Horticultural information as well. Click on the words Insects, Horticulture, Plant Diseases or Weeds beneath the word Newsletter to view news items on that topic.
Weed Identification (University of Illinois Weed Science)
This website from the University of Illinois Weed Science provides links to images of various weeds.
Weed ID Pages (from WSSA)
The Weed Science Society of America provides links to websites on weeds available from Universities.
Illinois Natural History Survey
The Illinois Natural History Survey does research on and provides information about biological resources in Illinois. The Research page provides a link to information about invasive species, including some weeds.

U.S. Government Agencies

USDA Introduced, Invasive, and Noxious Plants
This website from the US Department of Agriculture provides Federal and state noxious weed lists and lists of invasive and introduced plants. Users can link from alphabetical plant lists to pages that give information on each plant, including maps showing their distribution, images, classification information, legal status and links to other information.
PLANTS Database
The PLANTS database from the U.S. Department of Agriculture provides information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens found in the U.S. and its territories. It can be used to search both common and scientific names. Results include information about the plant, its distribution, status (endangered or threatened), and pictures. Links to other information about the plants in the database are also included.

Other Organizations

Weed Science Society of America
Website of the Weed Science Society of America, which is a professional organization that promotes research, education and awareness of weeds in a variety of settings. It publishes three journals related to weeds and weed management.
Scholarly Societies in Agriculture
A website that provides links to web pages of scholarly organizations in Agriculture.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
The FAO serves both developed and developing countries to improve agriculture, forestry and fisheries to ensure adequate nutrition for all people of the World.

AGRN 479 - Weed Science Information Guide: Internet Resources on Weeds