Graduate Research: Databases for Background and Research Info

WIU has a a number of databases for finding background information.  Knowing which to use (and how to use them to find background info) is half the battle.

The GENERAL databases have both scholalry and academic articles.  You will want to sort the magazines and newspapers out from your searches to get the basic information.

You can also sort out the academic and scholalry works in Academic Search Premier and InfoTrac to find quickly find peer -reveiwed artciles.

ALSO- the SPECIALIZED databases range from strictly newspapers and magazines, to research articles that will show you both sides of the issue written by experts. In the case of the News databases, it helps to be able to sort out opinions and editorials, as well as the articles. in the case of specialized research databases, it helps to be able to find the specific topic area you are looking for.

General Databases-With these you can sort out and read newspaper and magazine articles for background research (check the pulldown menu on the tab for this page for background info tips).

These are also a good place to look for scholarly articles, too!:}

Academic Search Premier, 1985- .

Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 2,050 publications, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 3,476 journals in the collection. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

InfoTrac (Expanded Academic Index), 1980-

Still very popular with users. Multidisciplinary. Majority full-text. Search by subject heading or keyword.

LexisNexis, dates vary

Unique collection of information resources, including transcripts of television/radio news programs, full-text of campus newspapers around the country (including recent issues of the Western Courier), legal information (law reviews, federal/state cases, etc), and business news.

Specialized Databases-America's Newspapers is a great place for finding popular materials, including editorials and opinions, the second two have topic focused areas that give a range of materials to provide you with a solid background on specific issues.

Americas Newspapers, 

America's Newspapers provides  selected full text from over 600 U.S. newspapers

CQ Researcher, 1923-

Single-issue, 12,000 word reports that focus on issues affecting Americans at a specific time. Great for policy papers or debates. The publisher, Congressional Quarterly, has a reputation for being objective. Loaded with suggestions for further reading at the end.

Opposing ViewPoints

Find arguments for and against numerous topics. Arranged by subject. Keyword search available.

Many print reference materials useful for background information can be found on the 2nd Floor in the Reference area, start in the section that runs from call number HQ1073 to HQ1136.

Some additional titles that might be useful are found below.

A dictionary of communication and media studies /James Watson, Anne Hill. Call Number: REF.P87.5.W38 1997

Sex and gender issues :a handbook of tests and measures /Carole A. Beere. Call Number: REF.BF692.B38 1990

Beacham's encyclopedia of social change :America in the twentieth century /edited by Veryan Khan. Call Number: REF.HN59.2.B43 2001