Greetings from the Western Illinois University Libraries! The Libraries consist of the Malpass Library and its three branches: the Curriculum Library (Horrabin, 80), Music Library (Sallee Hall, 108), and the WIU-Quad Cities Library in Moline.
This page provides an overview of the services and resources available in the Libraries. If you want to learn more about a particular service, ask that unit for information. Library faculty and staff are always happy to answer questions or provide service.
Have a question? People in the WIU Libraries Reference Unit can help you navigate the Libraries and its resources to find information. Librarians answer questions in person at the Reference Desk, 2nd (Main) Level Malpass Library, via e-mail or chat reference. Reference library faculty are available at the reference desk 67 hours a week, including nights and weekends. The Reference Unit has a collection of print reference materials such as almanacs, atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes for use.
Students, faculty and staff may make appointments to see individual librarians for help with more complex research. Each Department on campus is assigned a liaison who serves as the information consultant for that department. Use the link below to find your Department's Liaison. For more information about the Reference Unit, contact a reference librarian at 309-298-2700.
Students, faculty and staff at WIU have several options for citation management. EndNote Basic is a cloud-based system that is available through Science Citation Index. Zotero is an add-on for Firefox that can be used to collect and manage references and create citations. Guides to using both systems are linked below. Another resource, Mendeley, is also available, but the Libraries have not yet developed a guide for its use.
The Libraries provide access to computer workstations that can be used to work on class assignments, find and access Library materials or search databases. They are located on 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors of Malpass Library. Public access computers are also available in the Branch Libraries. Wireless is also available on all floors of the library.
To check out materials at WIU libraries show your WIU ID card or Driver’s License at the Access Services Desk. The Libraries send courtesy notices to remind users of due dates. Users can view the materials that they have checked out by clicking on "My Account" on the Libraries website and entering their Borrower ID and last name. For other information ask at the desk or see the Access Services website.
Reserve materials are high-use items with limited circulation that are needed for classes; they are generally placed on reserve at the request of faculty members. Items at the Reserve Desk, located on the main (2nd) level of Malpass Library, are available for a 2-hour, 3-day, or 7-day checkout. Valid ID (WIU ID or driver's license) must be presented to use these materials. Items in the electronic reserve module (ERes), are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. These pages are protected by passwords assigned to each class. Visit the Course Reserve webpage for more information. The telephone number is 309-298-2411.
The Digital Commons, located on the 1st level of Malpass Library, provides computing facilities to support the campus community. The Digital Commons includes a fully equipped media conference room (30 seat capacity), a Digital Studio for developing digital media projects, a viewing room for VHS and DVDs, an audiovisual equipment checkout service and much more. The unit also provides color printing and photocopying for a fee. The telephone number is 309-298-2417.
Library Administration - The Library Administration Office is located in the northeast wing of the 3rd level of the Malpass Library. The telephone number is 309-298-2762.
After-Hours Book Returns - Drive-up book returns are located at the west entrance of Malpass Library. There is also a return located in the foyer of the north entrance.
Scan Stations - The Libraries have two Scan Stations, in the 2nd Floor Computing area and the Digital Commons. The Scan Stations are equipped with a flatbed scanner with book edge to protect books and can be used to scan books or documents to the network, email, or a USB drive. The stations are equipped with automatic document feeder and can be used to scan double sided documents.
Photocopy Machines - Mediated copying is available in the Computer Services unit in the Digital Commons, Malpass Library 1st Floor. Scan Stations can be used as an alternative to photocopying.
Telephones - A courtesy telephone is available on the 1st level of Malpass Library (behind the elevators). This phone can be used to make campus, Macomb, toll free, or 9ll calls.
Fines - Fines are assessed for overdue items to emphasize the importance of prompt return of borrowed materials.
Lost & Found - Lost and found items are kept until the end of each semester, except for WIU ID's (which are turned in to Seal Hall), university keys and billfolds/purses (which are taken to OPS) if unclaimed after 24 hours. At the end of the semester, all other unclaimed items are donated to the Salvation Army.