Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to its physical collection, the Music Library provides you with access to a variety of online resources. These include subscriptions to online databases, curated lists of freely accessible websites, and online listening/streaming services.
To access subscription databases off-campus, you will need to use a VPN connection.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the the gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
***Please remember to log out when you are done, as our license allows for a limited number of users. If you are unable to access Oxford, please wait a few minutes and then try again.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest's Music Periodicals Database -- formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) -- offers access to over 425 international music periodicals, of which 140 are full text. While the majority of journal articles are from 1996 onward, this database also includes journal articles from as early as 1874. ProQuest's Music Periodicals Database covers the full spectrum of music, including music education, musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture, popular music forms, and composition.
JSTOR offers access to retrospective issues of selected core scholarly journals in many disciplines, including music. It includes full-text access to about 50 music journals, and partial or citation level access to many more.
Arts & Humanities Search
Arts & Humanities Search indexes the world’s leading arts and humanities journals. The database indexes over 1,300 sources, including articles, bibliographies, reviews, and more from 1980 to the present.
IPA Source is the web’s largest collection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. It includes more than 11,000 titles by more than 900 composers.
Freely Accessible Websites
Pronouncing Dictionary of Music and Musicians
A pronunciation dictionary including titles of classical music, names of composers and performers, and many other musical terms. The dictionary, hosted on Iowa Public Radio’s website, includes 30,000 entries.
Classical Net offers information and news on classical music subjects, including articles, reviews, composers, the basic repertoire, and recommended recordings. The site features more than 9,000 pages and over 5,500 links to other classical music websites.
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
IMSLP stands for the International Music Score Library Project. It is a virtual library of public domain music scores that currently provides access to 325,000 scores by 13,000 composers.
Open Music Library
Open Music Library is a new initiative to build the world’s most comprehensive open network of digital resources for the study of music. It brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and music scores from the world’s digital collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
American Memory is a multimedia website of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s holdings. It currently makes available 11 collections in music and the performing arts.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. It includes digitized items from the collections, special Web presentations on topics and collections, articles and biographical essays, finding aids to collections, databases for performing arts resources, and a Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases, and exhibits.
For more free websites, refer to the Music Library's list of Internet Research Guides.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the world’s largest online classical music library. It currently provides access to more than 131,000 CDs with more than 2,014,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to Naxos Music Library every month.
***Please remember to log out when you are done, as our license allows for a limited number of users. If you are unable to access Naxos, please wait a few minutes and then try again.
WIU Libraries Recital Archive
The WIU Music Library has been archiving digitized recordings of recitals from the School of Music since the fall semester of 2013. Current recitals are added as they are received, and older recitals are in the process of being digitized and then added. The digitized recordings and their programs are available to current students and faculty through this archive. Users can search for recordings by title, performer, composer, or date.