Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

MUS 190: What to Listen for in Music: Basic Searching in WestCat

Navigating the Music Library

Introduction to WestCat

Begin at the Music Library's homepage. This is your gateway to the resources and information that you will need to complete your assignments.

In the left column, click on the link to WestCatWestCat is WIU's library catalog and contains records of all of the books, scores, recordings, and audiovisual materials in the library's collection. 

The search box presents a number of options, shown in the WestCat Navigation box below:

WestCat Navigation

1. Navigation Menu
  • New Search- Clear the previous search and resets fro a new on.
  • All I-Share Libraries-I-Share allows you to many of the resources of 91 Illinois libraries that belong to CARLI.
  • Browse-A browse search returns an alphabetical list (based on the type of browse selected and the search terms specified by the user).
  • Journal List- Generates a full journal list that includes both electronic and physical journals held by the library. You can limit results to electronic or physical results with the Availability feature.
  • Course Reserves-The Reserve Collection provides access to paper and  electronic items needed for class assignments, or in high demand. We offer faculty a traditional  model ERes.
  • Ask A Librarian-We answer all kinds of questions, help you access and use our resources, and refer you to other departments and offices. Reach us by Phone, Email, Text Message, and Chat. 
  • History Functions-Search History -This tab displays all of your searches for the current session and allows you to manage your current session's searches.
  • My Favorites Page (pin)-The My Favorites page, which is accessed by clicking the My Favorites pin button
  • Sign-in- Users can log in to save citations and see My My Account features (Loans, Requests, Fines, +Blocks).
  • Menu-This menu will show your Saved Items, My Account (account information), and Search History.

2. How does this work?

Gives information about what materials you can find and borrow from WIU and other libraries, information for saving citations, and access to the sign-in page.

3. Search scopes

Search scopes allow users to access various content in their home institution or any other member institution. In addition to searching the main WestCat catalog, which contains many of the WIU library materials, you can can search some collections individually, including the music and curriculum libraries, the I-Share Libraries, the course reserves, and specialized collections such as the Leibovitz Holocaust Collection. You can even search the Popular Reading books for downtime enjoyment!

4.Where can I get help?

This takes you to the Ask A Librarian page where you can contact us in a variety of ways including, phone, Email, and text message. You are also encouraged to contact or visit the Reference Desk for further assistance. We can answer questions, provide instruction in how to access and utilize the library's varied information resources (both electronic and print), and refer you to other helpful contacts both in the University Libraries and beyond.

What If WIU Doesn't Have It?

If WIU does not have an item in its collection, we may still be able to acquire it for you through Interlibrary Loan.

  1. Check WestCat
  2. Check I-Share
  3. Check WorldCat

You can find information about how to use I-Share and WorldCat below.

I-Share

If you can't find an item through WestCat, your next step should be the I-Share catalog, which searches multiple libraries in the Illinois system.

  1. Log in to I-Share using your Ecom and password..
  2. Search for the item(s).
  3. When you have found your item, scroll down to the list of libraries that have the item and click "Request Item."
  4. A pop-up window will prompt you to select a pick-up location. It will default to the correct location for WIU. (All requests must be picked up at Malpass; we cannot receive them at the Music Library).
  5. Submit your request!

I-Share requests usually arrive within a week. You will receive an email when your item is ready to be picked up!

Watch the Video Clip to see how to search for and request an item using I-Share or Click Here for more details.

WorldCat

If you can't find an item through WestCat or I-Share, all hope is not lost! Items can be requested from libraries outside of Illinois through WorldCat.

  1. Find the item you need in the WorldCat catalog.
  2. Click on "Request this item through WIU ILL."
  3. If you are not already, you will be prompted to log in to your ecom account.
  4. Select request type "Loan of a Book or Media Item."
  5. Scroll down to "My address and contact information" and select campus location Macomb in the drop down menu.
  6. Click "Submit Request."

Like I-Share, items requested through ILL must be picked up at Malpass; we cannot receive them at the Music Library.

Books and scores requested through ILL usually take 5-14 days to arrive, depending on availability and delivery methods. Articles requested through ILL can arrive in 3-10 days, depending on whether the file is received in an electronic format or photocopied and mailed. You will receive an email when your item is available online or to be picked up.