This page is a brief introduction to finding items and researching topics in music education. On this page, you will find suggested call numbers for browsing the collection, suggested subject headings for searching our catalog, and selections of books, journals, databases, professional organizations, and websites. For more recommendations and/or more specialized resources, please ask Music Library staff for assistance. We're more than happy to help you find what you need!
Below are some suggested call number ranges to browse for library resources about various topics in music education.
M
M1000-M1473: Large ensemble scores
M1000-M1075: Orchestra scores
M1100-M1160: String orchestra scores
M1200-M1269: Band music scores
M1378-M1420: Instrumental music for children
M1990-M1998: Vocal music for children
ML
ML3830-ML3838: Music psychology
ML3930: Literature for children
MT
MT1: Music instruction and study
MT3-MT5: History of instruction and study
MT5.5-MT7: General music theory
MT10: Teachers' and supervisors' manuals
MT17: Music in special education
MT18: Music in colleges and universities
MT20-MT34: Systems and methods of education (Jaques-Dalcroze, Kodaly, etc.)
MT35: Notation and ear training
MT40-MT67: Composition and musical form
MT68: Improvisation, accompaniment, transposition
MT70-MT73: Instrumentation and orchestration
MT70: Orchestra
MT73: Band
MT75: Interpretation
MT85: Conducting, score reading and playing
MT87: Community music
MT88: Administration and instruction of vocal groups
MT90-MT146: Analysis and appreciation of musical works
MT150: Audio-visual aids
MT170-MT810: Instrumental techniques
MT179-MT258: Keyboard instruments
MT259-MT338: Stringed instruments
MT339-MT533: Wind instruments
MT539-MT654: Plucked instruments
MT655-MT725: Percussion and other instruments
MT728-MT735: Ensembles
MT730: Orchestra
MT733: Band instruction and study
MT733.4: Marching bands and maneuvers
MT740-MT810: Instrumental techniques for children
MT820-MT915: Singing and vocal technique
MT898-MT915: Vocal techniques for children
MT918-MT948: School music (kindergarten through senior high)
MT955-MT956: Musical theater
NX
NX280-NX282: Study and teaching of the arts (general)
Below are some suggested subject headings to search in WestCat to find library resources about music education. For additional resources, search these subject headings in I-Share.
Active learning
Arts -- Study and teaching -- United States
Children's songs
Choirs (Music)
Choral conducting
Choral singing
Classroom management
Cognition in adolescence
Cognition in children
Cognitive learning
Cognitive styles
Conducting
Ear training
Education -- Philosophy
Education -- Research
Education -- Standards
Effective teaching
Experiential learning
Games with music
[Group] -- Instruction and study
(e.g., Orchestra -- Instruction and study)
[Instrument] -- Instruction and study
(e.g., Flute -- Instruction and study)
Instrumental music -- Instruction and study
Learning
Learning disabilities
Marching bands
Music -- Instruction and study
Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics
Music and technology
Music appreciation
Music in education
Music memorizing
Music teachers
Music teachers -- Training of
Musical ability
Musical analysis
Practicing (Music)
School music -- Instruction and study
School music supervision
Sight-reading (Music)
Sight-singing
Singing -- Instruction and study
Singing games
Student teaching
Teaching
This is a brief selection of music education books available at the Music Library. For more recommendations and/or more specialized resources, search WestCat or ask Music Library staff for assistance. We're more than happy to help you find what you need!
Beyond the Downbeat: Choral Rehearsal Skills and Techniques by 
The Child As Musician: A Handbook of Musical Development by 
The Choral Director's Cookbook: Insights and Inspired Recipes for Beginners and Experts by 
Crowd Control: Classroom Management and Effective Teaching for Chorus, Band, and Orchestra by 
Enhancing the Professional Practice of Music Teachers: 101 Tips that Principals Want Music Teachers to Know and Do by 
Facing the Music: Shaping Music Education from a Global Perspective by 
Jazz Ensemble Companion: A Guide to Outstanding Big Band Arrangements Selected by Some of the Foremost Jazz Educators by 
Making Music and Enriching Lives: A Guide for All Music Teachers by 
MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development by 
Music Advocacy: Moving from Survival to Vision by 
Philosophy of Music Education: Advancing the Vision by 
Reaching and Teaching All Instrumental Music Students by 
Strategies for Teaching Strings: Building a Successful String and Orchestra Program by 
Teaching Music Globally: Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture by Below is a selection of music education journals available through WIU's online databases. To access these sources off-campus, you will need to use a VPN connection.
*Physical copies available in the Music Library
In addition to music-specific databases, WIU offers subscriptions to several other online databases that may help you in your research. To access these databases off-campus, you will need to use a VPN connection.
