This is a brief introduction to finding items and researching topics in music therapy. On this page, you will find suggested call numbers for browsing the collection, suggested subject headings for searching our catalog, and selections of books, journals, databases, and websites. For more recommendations and/or more specialized resources, please ask Music Library staff for assistance. We're more than happy to help you find what you need!
Below are some suggested call number ranges to browse for library resources about various topics in music therapy.
M
M1627-M1853: Folk, national, and ethnic music
M1627: Folk songs
M1629.3: Holiday songs
M1630: Popular music
M1990-1998: Children's songs
M2115-M2146: Hymnals; hymn collections
ML
ML3820: Physiological aspects of music
ML3830-ML3838: Psychology of music
ML3920: Music therapy
MT
MT17: Music in special education
Below are some suggested subject headings to search in WestCat to find library resources about music therapy. For additional resources, search these subject headings in I-Share.
Music -- Physiological aspects
Music -- Physiological effect
Music -- Psychological aspects
Music -- Psychology
Music -- Social aspects
Music for people with visual disabilities
Music for the blind
Music therapy
Music therapy -- Case studies
Music therapy -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Music therapy -- In infancy and childhood
Music therapy -- In old age
Music therapy -- Methods
Music therapy -- Practice
Music therapy -- Research
Music therapy for children
Music therapy for families
Music therapy for older people
Music therapy for teenagers
Musical instruments for people with disabilities
Special education -- Music
This is a brief selection of music therapy books available at the Music Library. For more recommendations and/or more specialized resources, search WestCat or ask Music Library staff for assistance. We're more than happy to help you find what you need!
Developments in Music Therapy Practice: Case Study Perspectives by 
Effective Clinical Practice in Music Therapy: Medical Music Therapy for Adults in Hospital Settings by 
International Dictionary of Music Therapy by 
An Introduction to Music Therapy Theory and Practice Third Edition by 
Music Techniques in Therapy, Counseling, and Special Education by 
Music Therapy and Geriatric Populations: A Handbook for Practicing Music Therapists and Healthcare Professionals by Below is a selection of music therapy journals available through WIU's online databases. To access these sources off-campus, you will need to use a VPN connection.
*Physical copies available in the Music Library
In addition to music-specific databases, WIU offers subscriptions to several other online databases that may help you in your research. To access these databases off-campus, you will need to use a VPN connection.
