ProQuest's Music Periodicals Database -- formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) -- offers access to over 610 international music periodicals, of which 225 are full text. While the majority of journal articles are from 1996 onward, this database also includes journal articles from as early as 1874. ProQuest's Music Periodicals Database covers the full spectrum of music, including music education, musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture, popular music forms, and composition.
Suppose that you're looking for articles discussing Stravinsky's Rite of Spring. Begin by typing <stravinsky "rite of spring"> into the Basic Search box.
You'll see that there are a large number of results: 1,238 of them!
To make it easier to find relevant articles, you'll want to narrow your results. Along the left column, you'll see a variety of options that you can use to refine your search.
One very helpful way to narrow your results is by the type of document. You'll see options to refine your results to include audio reviews, performance reviews, and more. For discussion of the piece, you'll need to select "Research and Analysis."
That brings us from 1,238 results down to 93 -- that's much more manageable!
You can learn a little more about each result by clicking the "Preview" button.
The preview will give you more information about the result, including the synopsis, narrower subjects, and people discussed.
If you decide that the record seems like it would be useful for your assignment, you can usually access the full text directly from the database.
You will then be able to view the article as a PDF, print it, or save it for later.
Occasionally, the full text of an article may not be available through ProQuest. In these cases, you'll see a button to "Find it! at WIU Libraries."
This will bring you to SFX, which will search WIU's print collection and other online databases to attempt to find the article for you. If the article is not available through WIU, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request.
From there, you'll be able to submit your Interlibrary Loan request through ILLiad. For more information, please refer to the earlier section about how to use ILL.
To complete a more detailed search, use the Advanced Search function. The Advanced Search allows you to apply additional limits to your search right away, including broad and narrow subject headings, persons, country of publication, document type, reference work, document feature, and language.
Through the Publication Search, you can see the full list of periodicals included in the database, search within a particular periodical title, and browse the available issues.
For example, suppose that you want to browse the latest issue of the Journal of the American Musicological Society.
In the results screen, you'll see the coverage of that particular periodical in the database.
When you click on the title, you can view more detailed information about that periodical.
You also have the option to search for articles within that periodical or to browse specific issues.
When you click on a particular issue, you'll be brought to a list of all of the articles it contains. As in the basic/keyword search, you can preview articles and view the full text when it's available.
