This page will show you sample citations for various formats of items. Each section will include an explanation of the citation elements, as well as an example that includes both a bibliography entry and notes entry.
Formats include:
For additional examples, refer to:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Book by a Single Author
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date.
Teachout, Terry. Duke: A Life of Duke Ellington. New York: Gotham Books, 2013.
1. Terry Teachout, Duke: A Life of Duke Ellington (New York: Gotham Books, 2013), 45-46.
2. Teachout, Duke, 92-93.
Book by Two Authors
Lastname, Firstname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date.
Paderewski, Ignace Jan, and Mary Lawton. The Paderewski Memoirs. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1938.
1. Ignace Jan Paderewski and Mary Lawton, The Paderewski Memoirs (New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1938), 91-92.
2. Paderewski and Lawton, The Paderewski Memoirs, 132-133.
Book by Three Authors
Lastname, Firstname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date.
Barnet, Richard D., Bruce Nemerov, and Mayo R. Taylor. The Story Behind Song: 150 Songs that Chronicle the 20th Century. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
1. Richard D. Barnet, Bruce Nemerov, and Mayo R. Taylor, The Story Behind Song: 150 Songs that Chronicle the 20th Century (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004), 128-130.
2. Barnet, Nemerov, and Taylor, The Story Behind Song, 223-224.
Book by Four or More Authors
Lastname, Firstname, Firstname Lastname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date.
Krummel, D. W., Jean Geil, Doris J. Dyen, and Deane L. Root. Resources of American Music History: A Directory of Source Materials from Colonial Times to World War II. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1981.
1. D. W. Krummel et al., Resources of American Music History: A Directory of Source Materials from Colonial Times to World War II (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1981), 253-254.
2. Krummel et al., Resources of American Music History, 307-309.
Book with an Editor/Translator Instead of an Author
Lastname, Firstname, trans./ed. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date.
Lewis, Richard, ed. In Praise of Music: An Anthology. New York: The Orion Press, 1963.
1. Richard Lewis, ed., In Praise of Music: An Anthology (New York: The Orion Press, 1963), 91-92.
2. Lewis, In Praise of Music, 111-113.
Book with an Editor/Translator in Addition to an Author
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Edited/translated by Firstname Lastname. City: Publisher, date.
Kolneder, Walter. Anton Webern: An Introduction to His Works. Translated by Humphrey Searle. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1968.
1. Walter Kolneder, Anton Webern: An Introduction to His Works, trans. Humphrey Searle (Berkeley: University of California Press, 1968), 24-25.
2. Kolneder, Anton Webern, 53-58.
Chapter of a Book
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname, pages of chapter. City: Publisher, date.
Hammond, Frederick. "Girolamo Frescobaldi: New Biographical Information." In Frescobaldi Studies, edited by Alexander Silbiger, 13-29. Durham: Duke University Press, 1987.
1. Frederick Hammond, "Girolamo Frescobaldi: New Biographical Information," in Frescobaldi Studies, ed. Alexander Silbiger (Durham: Duke University Press, 1987), 14-15.
2. Hammond, "Girolamo Frescobaldi," 21-22.
Preface, Foreword, or Introduction of a Book
Lastname, Firstname. Preface/Foreword/Introduction to Title of Book, by Firstname Lastname, pages of preface/foreword/introduction. City: Publisher, date.
Williams, Becket. Preface to The Waltz Kings of Old Vienna, by Ada B. Teetgen, vii-x. Freeport, NY: Books for Libraries Press, 1939.
1. Becket Williams, preface to The Waltz Kings of Old Vienna, by Ada B. Teetgen (Freeport, NY: Books for Libraries Press, 1939), vii.
2. Williams, preface, ix-x.
Book Published Electronically
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date. Version.
OR
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, date. Accessed date. Website link/name of database.
Gehrkens, Karl Wilson. Music Notation and Terminology. New York: The A. S. Barnes Company, 1914. Kindle.
1. Karl Wilson Gehrkens, Music Notation and Terminology (New York: The A. S. Barnes Company, 1914), 45-46, Kindle.
2. Gehrkens, Music Notation and Terminology, 97-98.
Webster, Peter R., and Janet R. Barrett. The Musical Experience: Rethinking Music Teaching and Learning. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. Accessed October 6, 2015. EBSCOhost.
1. Peter R. Webster and Janet R. Barrett, The Musical Experience: Rethinking Music Teaching and Learning (New York: Oxford University Press, 2014), 45-48, accessed October 6, 2015, EBSCOhost.
2. Webster and Barrett, The Musical Experience, 96-97.
Article in a Print Journal
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (issue date): page numbers.
Cumming, Ashley. "The Birth of the US Orchestral Audition." The Horn Call 45, no. 2 (February 2015): 49-52.
1. Ashley Cumming, "The Birth of the US Orchestral Audition," The Horn Call 45, no. 2 (February 2015): 49.
2. Cumming, "The Birth of the US Orchestral Audition," 50-51.
Article in an Online Journal
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (issue date): page numbers. Accessed date. Website link/database name.
Fannin, Karen. "Nadia Boulanger and Her Legacy through Wind Repertoire." Journal of Band Research 50, no. 2 (Spring 2015): 33-53. Accessed October 6, 2015. http://search.proquest.com/docview/1683486357?accountid=14982.
1. Karen Fannin, "Nadia Boulanger and Her Legacy through Wind Repertoire," Journal of Band Research 50, no. 2 (Spring 2015): 34-35, accessed October 6, 2015, http://search.proquest.com/docview/1683486357?accountid=14982.
2. Fannin, "Nadia Boulanger and Her Legacy through Wind Repertoire," 49-52.
Magazine Article
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, date.
Halperin, Shirley. "Miley Cyrus Rages Against the Machine." Billboard, September 19, 2015.
1. Shirley Halperin, "Miley Cyrus Rages Against the Machine," Billboard, September 19, 2015, 11.
2. Halperin, "Miley Cyrus Rages Against the Machine," 12.
Newspaper Article
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, date. Accessed date. Website link.
Cooper, Michael. "Carnegie Hall Faces Internal Strife Ahead of Anniversary Season." The New York Times, October 4, 2015. Accessed October 5, 2015. http://nyti.ms/1PYMCo9.
1. Michael Cooper, "Carnegie Hall Faces Internal Strife Ahead of Anniversary Season," The New York Times, October 4, 2015, accessed October 5, 2015, http://nyti.ms/1PYMCo9.
2. Cooper, "Carnegie Hall Faces Internal Strife."
Book Review
Lastname, Firstname. Review of Title of Book, edited by Firstname Lastname. Title of Journal volume number, issue number (issue date): page numbers. Accessed date. Website link.
Fuller, Sarah. Review of Machaut's Music: New Interpretations, edited by Elizabeth Eva Leach. Journal of the American Musicological Society 60, no. 1 (Spring 2007): 187-193. Accessed October 5, 2015. http://search.proquest.com/docview/938164?accountid=14982.
1. Sarah Fuller, review of Machaut's Music: New Interpretations, ed. Elizabeth Eva Leach, Journal of the American Musicological Society 60, no. 1 (Spring 2007): 190, accessed October 5, 2015, http://search.proquest.com/docview/938164?accountid=14982.
2. Fuller, review of Machaut's Music, 192.
Dissertation
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Dissertation." PhD diss., University, year.
Hill, Moira. "Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's Passion Settings: Context, Content, and Impact." PhD diss., Yale University, 2015.
1. Moira Hill, "Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's Passion Settings: Context, Content, and Impact" (PhD diss., Yale University, 2015), 3-5.
2. Hill, "Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's Passion Settings," 7-8.
Conference Paper
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Paper." Paper presented at the annual meeting for the Association Name, location, dates of the meeting.
Briscoe, James R. "Personal Integration and Ownership: Music History as Musicology." Paper presented at the annual meeting for the American Musicological Society, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, November 7-10, 2013.
1. James R. Briscoe, "Personal Integration and Ownership: Music History as Musicology" (paper presented at the annual meeting for the American Musicological Society, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, November 7-10, 2013).
2. Briscoe, "Personal Integration and Ownership."
Website
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Page." Title of Website. Last modified date. Accessed date. Website link.
Satz, Donald. "Bach's B minor Mass on Period Instruments." Bach Cantatas Website. Last modified November 3, 2010. Accessed October 5, 2015. http://www.bach-cantatas.com/Articles/MBM-Satz.htm.
1. Donald Satz, "Bach's B minor Mass on Period Instruments," Bach Cantatas Website, last modified November 3, 2010, accessed October 5, 2015, http://www.bach-cantatas.com/Articles/MBM-Satz.htm.
2. Satz, "Bach's B minor Mass on Period Instruments."
Blog Entry
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Entry." Title of Blog, date published. Accessed date. Website link.
Woods, Kenneth. "How to Rehearse an Ensemble." A View from the Podium, September 9, 2015. Accessed October 5, 2015. http://kennethwoods.net/blog1/2015/09/09/how-to-rehearse-an-ensemble/.
1. Kenneth Woods, "How to Rehearse an Ensemble," A View from the Podium, September 9, 2015, accessed October 5, 2015, http://kennethwoods.net/blog1/2015/09/09/how-to-rehearse-an-ensemble/.
2. Woods, "How to Rehearse an Ensemble."
Emails, Text Messages, & Social Networking Services
These resources are rarely listed in a bibliography. They are usually mentioned in the text:
"In a text message to the author on October 2, 2015, John Smith revealed..."
"In a message posted to his Twitter account on September 18, 2015, Joshua Bell..."
They may also be mentioned in a note:
1. John Smith, e-mail message to author, October 5, 2015.
2. Joshua Bell, Twitter post, September 18, 2015 (7:32 a.m.), accessed October 5, 2015, http://twitter.com/JoshuaBellMusic.
Music Score
Cite a music score as you would a book:
Lastname, Firstname. Title of Score. City: Publisher, date.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Missa brevis in C, K. 220. Brooklyn: Artista Music Co., 1973.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Six Sonatas. Edited by Frans Vester. London: Universal Edition, 1981.
Song from an Anthology or Collection
Cite a song from an anthology or collection as you would a chapter in a book:
Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Song." In Title of Anthology, edited by Firstname Lastname, pages of song. City: Publisher, date.
Schwartz, Stephen. "Defying Gravity." In The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology, Mezzo-Soprano/Belter, Vol. 5, edited by Richard Walters, 272-281. Milwaukee: Hal Leonard, 2008.