The WIU Libraries map collection contains copies of maps that were produced by the National Geographic Society that were reproduced by the German Army and the British War Office. This page contains information about the National Geographic maps that were used as information sources for maps of specific areas.
Caribbean
National Geographic Society. 1922. The countries of the Caribbean: Including Mexico, Central America, the West Indies and the Panama Canal. Washington: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G4390 1922 .N2
Bumstead, A. H. 1934. Mexico, Central America, and the West Indies. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G4390 1934 .N3
Bumstead, A. H. 1939. Mexico, Central America, and the West Indies. Washington, D.C.: National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G4390 1939 .N3
This particular map annotates information about specific locations, such as a refinery on Aruba.
Germany. Heer. Abteilung für Kriegskarten- und Vermessungswesen. 1940. Mittelamerika 1:5,000,000: Mexiko, Zentralamerika und Westindische Inseln (Vorläufige Sonderausg.). [Washington, D.C.]: [National Geographic Society]. Map Collection MAP. G4390 1940 .N3
This map is a reproduction of one of the earlier National Geographic maps that has been translated into German by the German Army.
Pacific Theater
Darley, James M., Bumstead, Albert H. and Riddiford, Charles E., Eds. 1936. Pacific Ocean. Washington, D.C.: Cartographic Section, National Geographic Society. Map Collection MAP. G9230 1936 .N3
Darley, James M., Bumstead, Albert H. and Riddiford, Charles E., Eds. 1936. Pacific Ocean. Washington, D.C.: Cartographic Section, National Geographic Society. Reprinted by the War Office. Map Collection MAP. G9230 1936 .N3 1943
Europe
Great Britain. War Office. 1944. Town plan of Hamburg (2nd edition.). [London]: War Office. Map Collection MAP. G6299.H3 1944 .G7
This is one of a multi-sheet map of Hamburg, Germany. It is printed on a captured German map, which shows the area around Lanark, Scotland.