Library Guides: GEOL 380: Hydrogeology (Information Sources in Hydrology): Finding Books

Finding Books on Geology & Hydrology

WestCat This link opens in a new window
WestCat provides information about the books, government publications, recordings, and other library materials available in the WIU Libraries. Some of the materials are available on the shelves, while others are available online.
I-Share This link opens in a new window
I-Share provides information about library materials at over 80 academic and research libraries located throughout Illinois. All WIU Students, Faculty and Staff can set up an account to borrow materials available in other I-Share libraries. When an item in the I-Share catalog is found, users can request that it be sent to WIU or any other I-Share library at no charge..
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat can be used to locate books, maps and other resources owned by libraries throughout the World. If WIU does not own the item, it can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Illinois State Water Survey Publications
The Water Survey, an institute of the University of Illinois, is responsible for producing and disseminating scientific and technological information on water resources.
Illinois Water Resources Center Research
Publications issued by the Illinois Water Resources Center at the University of Illinois.
Illinois State Geological Survey Publication Search
The publication catalog for the Illinois State Geological Survey. It includes publications related to water resources.
Illinois Department of Natural Resources Publications
A list of publications produced by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, includes water resource assessments, print and online publications.
USGS Publications Warehouse
An index to U.S. Geological Survey Publications, including digital and digitized publications as well as print publications. If an item is not available electronically, a print copy may be available in the Government Information Unit, Malpass Library, 4th Floor.
Geological Surveys Database
The Geological Surveys Database contains publications from state geological surveys and U.S. Geological Survey fact sheets. It contains the full-text of publications from many state geological surveys.
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
An index to over 2-million place names in the United States and U.S. Territories that appear on 7.5" topographic maps. This site can be used to identify the name(s) of maps that show a particular feature or location.