Library Guides: GEOL 380: Hydrogeology (Information Sources in Hydrology): Reference Resources

Water & Water Resources References, Glossaries & Dictionaries

US Geological Survey Water-Resources Techniques, Methods, and Modeling
This web site from the US Geological Survey provides links to resources containing procedures and strategies for collection, analysis, research and management of scientific information related to water resources.
Water Science Glossary
A generalized water dictionary from the U.S. Geological Survey.
Water Quality Glossary
A glossary related to water quality provided by the USGS National Water Quality Assessment program.
Water Words Dictionary
A detailed dictionary of terms related to water resources provided by the Nevada Division of Water Resources.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Earth Science Series - this is a series of subject encyclopedias published by Springer. Some volumes in the series are available electronically, while others are only available in hard copy. The WIU Libraries has the following titles in the series:

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences and Astrogeology - Malpass Library Stacks QC854 .F34
Encyclopedia of Climatology - Malpass Library Reference QC854 .E525 1987
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science - Malpass Library Reference GE10 .E52 1999

Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Chesworth, Ward, 2008. Encyclopedia of soil science. Dordrecht, Netherlands: Springer. A volume in the Encyclopedia of Earth Science Series. This one is available electronically.
Encyclopedia of Earth
An openly accessible, interdisciplinary encyclopedia on all aspects of the Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Meyers, Robert A., Ed. 2012. Encyclopedia of sustainability science and technology. New York: Springer.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Robbins, Paul, Ed. Encyclopedia of Environment and Society. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications; 2007.

Dictionaries and Glossaries

Neuendorf, Klaus K. E., Mehl, James P. and Jackson, Julia A., Eds., 2005. Glossary of Geology. Alexandria, Va.: American Geological Institute. This is the most comprehensive dictionary of geological terms.

General Geology Online Dictionaries

Geologic Glossary
A glossary of general terms related to geology from the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Geology of the National Parks web site.
Dictionary of Geological Terms
A dictionary of geology related terms from the geotech.org web site.

Online Dictionaries on Glaciers & Glaciology

Glossary of Glacier Terminology
An illustrated glossary of terms related to glacial geology, from the U.S. Geological Survey.

Online Dictionaries on Water & Water Resources

Water Science Glossary
A generalized water dictionary from the U.S. Geological Survey.
Water Quality Glossary
A glossary related to water quality provided by the USGS National Water Quality Assessment program.
Water Words Dictionary
A detailed dictionary of terms related to water resources provided by the Nevada Division of Water Resources.

Other Resources

Scholarly Societies Project: Earth Sciences
A website containing links to scholarly societies in the Earth sciences, developed by the University of Waterloo Libraries.