Library Guides: GEOL 380: Hydrogeology (Information Sources in Hydrology): Publication Indexes & Databases

Geoscience Indexes

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
An index to US, North American and World literature in the geosciences and physical geography that have been published since the 1600s. GeoRef indexes articles in journals and books, as well as books, maps, government publications, conference proceedings, technical reports, theses and dissertations. For information on searching GeoRef, see the GeoRef Search Guide.

National Geologic Map Database
An index to published geologic and other geology-related maps developed by the U.S. Geological Survey and the Association of American State Geologists
Geologic Formation Names Lexicon (GEOLEX)
This is the digital version of the Lexicon of North American Geology, an index to publications on and information about named geologic rock formations in North America.
WIU Libraries' Periodicals Holding List
The holdings list can be used to access full text journals purchased by WIU Libraries, and identify print/microform journals available in the Libraries. The list currently contains over 50,000 e-journals, magazines and newspapers.
Illinois State Water Survey Publications
The Water Survey, an institute of the University of Illinois, is responsible for producing and disseminating scientific and technological information on water resources.
Illinois Department of Natural Resources Publications
A list of publications produced by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, includes water resource assessments, print and online publications.
Illinois State Geological Survey Publication Search
The publication catalog for the Illinois State Geological Survey. It includes publications related to water resources.
Geologic Formation Names Lexicon (GEOLEX)
This is the digital version of the Lexicon of North American Geology, an index to publications on and information about named geologic rock formations in North America.
USGS Publications Warehouse
An index to U.S. Geological Survey Publications, including digital and digitized publications as well as print publications. If an item is not available electronically, a print copy may be available in the Government Information Unit, Malpass Library, 4th Floor.
Geological Surveys Database
The Geological Surveys Database contains publications from state geological surveys and U.S. Geological Survey fact sheets. It contains the full-text of publications from many state geological surveys.

Science Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
SCI is an interdisciplinary index to articles in over 3,500 journals from 2004 to the present. It can be used to search for information on who has cited an article. It can also be used to sign up for an account to EndNote, an online system that can be used to access, update and organize references for research.
GeoScience World This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic journals in the geosciences published by major geological societies.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is an index to books, maps, manuscripts and other resources held by libraries throughout the World.

Place Name Indexes

Geographic Names Information System
An index to over 2-million place names in the United States and U.S. Territories that appear on 7.5" topographic maps. This site can be used to identify the name(s) of maps that show a particular feature or location.
GeoNet World Place Names Server
An index to the place names outside of the U.S. and its Territories that have been collected by U.S. government mapping agencies and approved by the U.S. Board of Geographic Names.